Our Team

Principal Investigator

Luca Mastropasqua

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: luca.mastropasqua@wisc.edu

Address:
Address:
Engineering Research Building
1500 Engineering Drive
Madison, WI 53706

Dr. Luca Mastropasqua is an Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Department of Mechanical Engineering. He is the principal investigator of the Hydrogen and Electrochemical Research for Decarbonization (HERD) Lab.  Dr. Mastropasqua’s research focuses on the conceptualization of new electrochemical devices and their integration into energy conversion and industrial processes. His chief research goal is to use electrochemical technologies to provide power generation, grid energy storage, and decarbonize sectors such as aviation, freight, shipping, steel, and cement production via electrochemical synthesis of high-value products. Prior to joining UW-Madison, Dr. Mastropasqua was a Senior Scientist at the University of California, Irvine’s National Fuel Cell Research Center (NFCRC), and a Postdoctoral Associate at Princeton University. Dr. Mastropasqua received his PhD cum laudae from Politecnico di Milano in 2017 in Energy and Nuclear Science and Technology, one M.Sc. in Energy Engineering from Politecnico di Milano, and one in Thermal Engineering from Cranfield University.

Graduate students

Zilong Zhuang

Position title: Ph.D. Student

Email: zzhuang54@wisc.edu

Eric Hintz

Position title: M.Sc. Student

Email: ehintz3@wisc.edu

Undergraduate students

Ainsley Rae Schwalbe

Position title: Undergraduate researcher

Email: arschwalbe@wisc.edu

Dara Safe

Position title: Undergraduate researcher

Email: dsafe@wisc.edu

Mason Evan Freeman

Position title: Undergraduate researcher

Email: mefreeman3@wisc.edu

Visiting students

Francesco Battistella

Position title: Visiting Ph.D. Student

Email: fbattistella@wisc.edu

Visiting from Politecnico di Milano (Italy)

Natsuma Okada

Position title: Visiting M.Sc. Student

Email: nokada3@wisc.edu

Visiting from Kyoto University (Japan)